Taesik (my husband and a colleague in the Industrial & Systems Engineering Department) teaches a graduate course on health care delivery. Part of that course discusses health information, such as Electronic Health Records, Personal Health Records, and online health information. I volunteered to give a lecture on health information on the Web: what the current status is, what improvements can be made so that users can get better health information from the Web, and how some computational methodologies can be applied to health information on the Web.

I did this in part because Taesik is suffering from a wisdom tooth extraction procedure, and it was a win-win-win situation. I gave him a couple of days to recover from the operation without having to give a lecture. I had a good time preparing for and delivering the lecture, and at the same time, I got to organize my thoughts about applying the ideas and methods used in our lab to health information. And I think, for the most part, students appreciated this change of perspective, from a systems engineering point of view to a computer science point of view.

I spent quite a long time preparing the presentation, so I want to share it with everyone here. Note that it is not a very technical talk. It’s intended to serve a general audience.

The Social Web and Health Information: A Computational Perspective

