While browsing through the blogs on the left (Blogs I Read), I found a recent JAIR paper by Peter Turney on Vector Space Models (VSM). Peter Turney is a well-known expert in the field of information retrieval (IR), so I had high hopes for this paper. Indeed, it is a great paper! I read through it pretty quickly (so I can get some sleep tonight), and it seems to be jam packed with insights, history, mathematical and technical details, pointers to tools, and lots and lots of very good references. This one is a keeper for weeks so I can get a thorough reading of it and many of the papers in the references section.

P. D. Turney and P. Pantel (2010) “From Frequency to Meaning: Vector Space Models of Semantics”, Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research, Volume 37, pages 141-188

http://www.jair.org/papers/paper2934.html

